MINDY CONE
G E T C R E A T I V E J U I C E . C O M I G : @ M I N D Y _ C R E A T I V E J U I C E F B : / G E T C R E A T I V E J U I C E
Developing a Monetization strategy for your blog MINDY CONE G E T - - PowerPoint PPT Presentation
Developing a Monetization strategy for your blog MINDY CONE G E T C R E A T I V E J U I C E . C O M I G : @ M I N D Y _ C R E A T I V E J U I C E F B : / G E T C R E A T I V E J U I C E Develop a strategy that works for YOU! R E A D Y T O
MINDY CONE
G E T C R E A T I V E J U I C E . C O M I G : @ M I N D Y _ C R E A T I V E J U I C E F B : / G E T C R E A T I V E J U I C E
R E A D Y T O S T A R T M A K I N G M O N E Y O N Y O U R B L O G ? T O D A Y W E W I L L D I S C U S S P R A C T I C A L A N D A C T I O N B A S E D A D V I C E T O K I C K S T A R T O R S T R E N G T H E N Y O U R M O N E T I Z A T I O N S T R A T E G Y F O R Y O U R B L O G . H O W T O W O R K W I T H I N D E P E N D E N T B R A N D S , A F F I L I A T E S , B L O G G E R C A M P A I G N A G E N C I E S , S E L L Y O U R O W N B A N N E R A D S , U S E D I S P L A Y A D S F R O M A D N E T W O R K S , A N D N A V I G A T E T H E C O M P L E X W O R L D O F L A Y E R E D A D S . D E V E L O P A S T R A T E G Y T H A T I S B E S T F O R Y O U A N D S T A R T M A K I N G M O N E Y !
Affiliate Links
Display Ads Blogger Campaign Agencies
Social Campaigns
Products & Services
Independent Brand Campaigns
W H A T I S A N A F F I L I A T E L I N K A N D H O W D O E S I T G E N E R A T E I N C O M E ?
High Traffic Posts First
{ Use your GA for the last 6mo}
Target your product heavy posts All new posts Social Sharing of Links
Note: Follow FTC disclosure regulations
T H E R E A R E L O T S O F M I S C E L L A N E O U S W A Y S T O G E N E R A T E I N C O M E I N R E L A T I O N T O Y O U R B L O G
Brainstorm ways that you can use your talents to break into the product / services space and diversify your income to support your blog
T H I R D P A R T Y B L O G A G E N C I E S B R I D G E T H E G A P B E T W E E N B L O G G E R S A N D B R A N D S M A K I N G I T E A S Y T O B U I L D Y O U R P O R T F O L I O W H I L E G E N E R A T I N G I N C O M E .
Work with brands you may
Brands are ready to work
Build your portfolio of
Payment is often non-
negotiable
Payment is more number/
traffic based than branding based
Not building a direct
relationship with the brand
Some require contracts,
have a no-compete clause,
display ads
STRATEGY Choose 2-3 agencies to Join
P R O D U C T O R P A Y M E N T M A D E I N E X C H A N G E F O R P R O M O T I O N V I A S O C I A L C H A N N E L S I Z E A I N F L U E N S T E R B L O G H E R B Z Z A G E N T C L E V E R G I R L S
S O M E O F T H E M O S T C O M M O N L Y A S K E D Q U E S T I O N S : H O W D O I S T A R T W O R K I N G W I T H B R A N D S ? H O W D O I S E T M Y P R I C E F O R S P O N S O R E D P O S T S ?
T I P S A N D T R I C K S G O T O C O N F E R E N C E S & G E T F A C E T I M E ! P A Y A T T E N T I O N T O B R A N D S T H A T L I K E W O R K I N G W I T H B L O G G E R S & S E E K T H E M O U T B E A G O O D S T A L K E R A S K F R I E N D S F O R C O N T A C T S *
{*BUT DON’T TAKE IT PERSONAL IF THEY DON’T SHARE THEM…BUT IT DOESN’T HURT TO ASK}
H A V E A M E D I A K I T & C A S E S T U D Y R E A D Y
{CASE STUDIES & FOLLOWING UP ARE THE BEST WAY TO GO FROM A ONE TIME GIG TO A LONG TERM RELATIONSHIP – CHECK IN WITH THE BRAND EVERY 2 MONTHS OR SO}
R E S E A R C H L O C A L C O M P A N I E S U S E & P R O M O T E T H E I R P R O D U C T S I F I T I S A U T H E N T I C
{IF YOU DON’T WANT TO DO A FULL POST ABOUT IT, SHARE ON SOCIAL MEDIA AND TAG THEM}
T A K E Y O U R T I M E T O F I N D T H E R I G H T P E R S O N
{TITLES TO LOOK FOR: PR, SOCIAL MEDIA MANAGER, MARKETING}
A D D R E S S T H E M B Y F I R S T N A M E W H E N P O S S I B L E
{AND SPELL IT RIGHT!}
S H O R T E M A I L S !
{BREAK IT UP INTO 2-3 SENTENCE PARAGRAPHS}
P 1 – K I S S B U T T P 2 – E L E V A T O R P I T C H
{BURLESQUE SHOW. NOT A STRIP SHOW. REVEAL JUST THE RIGHT AMOUNT.}
P 3 - R E L E V A N T L I N K S F O R E X A M P L E S O F Y O U R W O R K
{ESPECIALLY IF YOU HAVE POSTS THAT ALREADY USE THEIR PRODUCTS}
E N D W I T H A Q U E S T I O N
{WOULD YOU LIKE ME TO SEND OVER MY MEDIA KIT?, WHICH IDEA ARE YOU MORE INTERESTED IN?}
F O L L O W U P
{BE PERSISTENT BUT NOT ANNOYING}
I S I T A L L A B O U T T H E N U M B E R S ? N O T A L W A Y S . N I C H E B L O G G E R S O N P O I N T B R A N D I N G K N O W I N G Y O U R A U D I E N C E A U T H E N T I C E N G A G E M E N T B R A N D / P R O D U C T F I T W I T H Y O U R S I T E
C P M & P A G E V I E W S ( I N 1 M O ) 1 0 0 , 0 0 0 P V $ 2 - $ 4 C P M R A T E ( 1 0 0 , 0 0 0 X 2 ) / 1 0 0 0 = $ 2 0 0 ( 1 0 0 , 0 0 0 X 4 ) / 1 0 0 0 = $ 4 0 0 P R I C E R A N G E F O R B L O G G E R W I T H 1 0 0 K = $ 2 0 0 - $ 4 0 0 * * T H I S I S Y O U R P R O F I T M A R G I N * C A L C U L A T E / E S T I M A T E H O U R L Y R A T E A N D C O S T O F M A T E R I A L S { A B L O G G E R W I T H 5 0 K - $ 1 0 0 - $ 2 0 0 }
C P M & T O T A L R E A C H
GOOD FOR PEOPLE WITH STRONGER SOCIAL MEDIA THAN PV
U M V ( U N I Q U E M O V I S I T O R S ) + S O C I A L M E D I A F O L L O W E R S = T O T A L R E A C H
EACH FOLLOWER ON EACH PLATFORM = 1 BLOGGER WITH 100K PV, 60K UMV, SOCIAL COMBINED TO 60K TOTAL REACH = 120K USE THIS NUMBER WITH CPM IN MODEL ONE INSTEAD OF PV (120,000 X 2) / 1000 = $240 (120,000 X 4) / 1000 = $480 PRICE RANGE $240 - $480 * *AGAIN THIS IS YOUR PROFIT MARGIN – CALCULATE HOURLY RATE & COST OF MATERIALS AS WELL
T R A F F I C O N P A S T S P O N S O R E D P O S T S & C P M P U L L D A T A F R O M G A O F Y O U R T O P 5 - 1 0 S P O N S O R E D P O S T S F R O M T H E L A S T 6 M O N T H S
(Traffic rounded to nearest thousand & numbers changed for ease of modeling/privacy) After some research with this model I found that the CPM rate Of $25 is considered for a premium blogger, but also a common Rate among those willing to discuss it.
6mo Traffic x CPM rate (/1000) = Value of Post (63,000 x $25) / 1000 = $1575 (22,000 x $25) / 1000 = $ 550 (17,000 x $25) / 1000 = $ 425 (16,000 x $25) / 1000 = $ 400 (11,000 x $25) / 1000 = $ 275 AVG VALUE $645 +Cost of Materials + Hourly Rate
*could also be done with your top 10 sponsored posts resulting in a lower average value
T R A F F I C B A S E D D I S P L A Y / B A N N E R A D S T H A T A R E G E N E R A T E D F O R Y O U R S I T E B Y A D N E T W O R K S T H A T P A Y A C P M T O Y O U R S I T E
‘Above the fold’ CPM
Cost per ‘mille’ (means per thousand pageviews)
CPC
Cost per click
Google Adsense* (premium –
Google Ad Exchange)
Sovrn (Formerly Lijit /
Federated Media)
Glam (contract) BlogHer (contract) Rivit Burst Media Media.net (yahoo and bing) Infolinks (in text link ads) SayMedia PulsePoint
IG: @MINDY_CREATIVEJUICE EMAIL: GETCREATIVEJUICE@GMAIL.COM FB / GETCREATIVEJUICE