1
Criteo 101
Investor Presentation
November 2017
Criteo 101 Investor Presentation November 2017 1 Safe harbor - - PowerPoint PPT Presentation
Criteo 101 Investor Presentation November 2017 1 Safe harbor statement This presentation contains forward-looking statements that are based on our managements beliefs and assumptions and on information currently available to
1
November 2017
2
This presentation contains “forward-looking” statements that are based on our management’s beliefs and assumptions and
environment, potential growth opportunities, potential market opportunities and the effects of competition. Forward-looking statements include all statements that are not historical facts and can be identified by terms such as “anticipates,” “believes,” “could,” “seeks,” “estimates,” “intends,” “may,” “plans,” “potential,” “predicts,” “projects,” “should,” “will,” “would” or similar expressions and the negatives of those terms. Forward-looking statements involve known and unknown risks, uncertainties and other factors that may cause our actual results, performance or achievements to be materially different from any future results, performance or achievements expressed or implied by the forward-looking
the Risk Factors set forth therein and the exhibits thereto, completely and with the understanding that our actual future results may be materially different from what we expect. Except as required by law, we assume no obligation to update these forward-looking statements publicly, or to update the reasons actual results could differ materially from those anticipated in the forward-looking statements, even if new information becomes available in the future. This presentation includes certain non-GAAP financial measures as defined by SEC rules. As required by Regulation G, we have provided a reconciliation of those measures to the most directly comparable GAAP measures, which is available in the Appendix slides.
Safe harbor statement
3
CRTO
NASDAQ Global Market
226718104
65.3M
* As of June 30, 2016
$1,799M, +36% at cc
$730M, +37% at cc
$225M, +55% at cc
30.8% of Revenue ex-TAC 93% 4% 3%
Free float Founders & mgmt VCs
Stock information and selected financials
4
17,000+ retailer and brand clients campaigns in 95+ markets 2,700+ employees 30 offices worldwide 1.2B+ active monthly shoppers $550B+ annual commerce sales $27B annual post-click sales
Selected KPIs
5
Jean-Baptiste Rudelle Executive Chairman and Co-Founder, 47 K-Mobile, Lucent, Roland Berger Eric Eichmann Chief Executive Officer, 49 Living Social, Rosetta Stone, McKinsey & Co. Dan Teodosiu Chief Technology Officer, 50 Google, Microsoft, Hewlett-Packard Mollie Spilman Chief Operating Officer, 49 Millenial Media, Yahoo, Advertising.com, Time Warner Benoit Fouilland Chief Financial Officer, 52 SAP, Business Objects Jonathan Opdyke Chief Strategy Officer, 40 HookLogic, Xerox, Beyond Interactive Tom Aurelio Executive Vice President, Human Resources, 51 Priceline, GE, Symantec, CheerNetworks
Management team
Patrick Wyatt Senior Vice President, 34 Yahoo, Estin & Co.
6
Build the highest performing and open commerce marketing ecosystem Connect shoppers to the things they need and love Deliver performance at scaleto the retailers and brandswho participate
7
Technology Performance Scale Global Presence
Commerce marketing is deeply rooted in our DNA
8
We brought performance- based personalized marketing to display in 2008
We have since pioneered the industry in many ways… 2008
First CPC model in display
We are a disruptive innovator and a pioneer
Real-time Creative Optimization
AOV Optimizer
Privacy by Design
Facebook Exchange
Universal Match
Apple-compliant solution
Travel Segments in Engine Conversion Rate Optimizer
4B products imported
from merchants everyday
TOP!
Daily RTB: 55bn bid requests,1.2bn wins Product Category level CPC bidding
600 TB
everyday
Largest Hadoop cluster in Europe
Improved
collaborative filtering
Dynamic product banners
Traktor
Engine Optimized Segments
Passback
Sizeless creatives
Onetag
App Deep linking
Unique User Value Prediction
Mobile Ad Formats
App advertising Native Ads
Adaptive Revenue Optimizer
Kinetic Design
Facebook Dynamic Ads
CPOP
Direct Bidder
9
2,700+ employees focus on client sales and profits as key metrics of success
CPC model
Transparent performance information through
24/7 client interface Constant
Continuous tracking
Established post-click attribution
Maximize Clients Sales
The entire company is about measurable performance
Client Service Teams
10
2nd largest
global user network*
17,000
commerce and brand clients**
Thousands of
publishers**
* comScore – Unique Monthly Users – January 2016 – Desktop Only | ** As of September 30, 2017
Machine-learning technology
We have built a large network with powerful effects
11
Our dataset, world-class technology and network drive commerce at scale
Commerce Data Reach
16,000+
Retailers & Commerce
~1,000
Brands
1,000’s
Direct publishers
4x
Shopper Engagement*
$550B+
Annual online sales
1.2B+
Active shoppers monthly
Brand Funding
$27B
Annual post-click sales
Mass Personalization
* Our average click-through rate, or the ratio of clicks generated by our advertisements over the number of advertising impressions we purchased ("CTR"), was over 0.76% in 2016, which represents a factor
measured by the DoubleClick display benchmark tool for 2016.
12
and purchase history
technology optimized to drive sales and profits
the shopper’s online journey
data sharing among participants in our ecosystem A level playing field for retailers and brands requires collaboration in an open ecosystem
Four key pillars support our Commerce Marketing Ecosystem
Data Technology Scale Shopper Graph
13
Boston
2012
Barcelona
2014
Tokyo
2011
Singapore
2013
São Paulo
2011
Shanghai
2016
Palo Alto
2009
New York
2011
Chicago
2012
London
2008
Madrid
2014
Paris
2005
Stockholm
2010
Milan
2012
Munich
2010
Amsterdam
2011
Beijing
2013
Seoul
2010
Sydney
2011
Dubai
2015
Moscow
2014
San Francisco
2014
Osaka
2014
Los Angeles
2015
Miami
2015
Istanbul
2015
Toronto
2015
New Delhi
2016
nationalities
Grenoble
2014
countries Campaigns in countries
We are a truly global company
Ann Arbor
2008
14
15
showroom and webroom shoppers visit 2+ retailer sites when shopping
involve mobile
Web and mobile have changed shopper behavior
16
Shopper Data
Activation of Data
Success factors have changed for retailers (and brands)
YESTERDA Y TODA Y
17
T echnology / AI Media Brands Others Others
Others
Granular shopper information at massive scale Partial, fragmented, unstructured view of the shopper
Data
Others
Offline Online
Data-Driven Marketing Is Critical for Retailers and Brands
18
is quickly emerging as the next big digital marketing category after Search and Social
Centers on inspiring people to buy things Measured by performance – directly driving sales and profits Not limited to digital
20
Commerce marketing has always been our core
Criteo’s original technology was a product recommendation engine for retail This engine formed the basis of Criteo Dynamic Retargeting Primarily applied to online commerce: retail, travel and classified Expanding to include data cooperative across retailers to build an omni-retailer solution Expanding to include offline data for a full omnichannel solution
21
22
CRITEO DYNAMIC RETARGETING CRITEO AUDIENCE MATCH
Core Technology
Privacy by Design
Products
UNIVERSAL MATCH PRODUCT
RECOMMENDATIONS
PREDICTIVE BIDDING KINETIC DESIGN CRITEO ENGINE
A broad portfolio of commerce marketing solutions
CRITEO SPONSORED PRODUCTS CRITEO CUSTOMER ACQUISITION
23
publisher.com
Criteo Dynamic Retargeting
1 ProspectiveUsed by leading retailers
with relevance
machine-learning
24
Criteo Sponsored Products
1 Prospectiveweb and app
Participating brands
25
John searches for “coffee makers” on a retailer’s website John’s search triggers sponsored ads on retailer site John’s click on sponsored ad leads to product page Measurable sales
How does Sponsored Products work?
26
Criteo Audience MatchBETA
What it does
Benefits
27
Audience MatchBETA supports diverse campaign objectives
Top Sellers Offline to Online Loyalty Upsell New product offers Cross-Sell Upgrade Seasonal
Lapsed shoppers Offline Buyers Loyalty Card Holders Audiences that may soon churn Bundle Offer Best Candidates for Buying Targeted Cross-Sell Audiences likely to upgrade Seasonal Buyers
28
Criteo Customer AcquisitionBETA
What it does
Benefits
29
Targeting new customers with a high propensity to buy
Targeting relevant, highest scored, ne customers with a propensity to buy Scoring new customers based
profile Isolating new customers with Criteo Shopper Graph Aggregating publisher and advertiser signal to qualify new customers
71 65
30
Creates Product Recommendation Personalized creative Unique user value prediction
Client 2 Client 3 Client 4 Client 5
For each user
Internal advertiser auction Publisher/ platform bid Custom ad serving
Less than 100ms
to perform the entire process
37,000 ads served/sec 600,000+ RTB bids/sec
Client 1
Creates Product Recommendation Personalized creative Unique user value prediction Creates Product Recommendation Personalized creative Unique user value prediction Creates Product Recommendation Personalized creative Unique user value prediction
Our Engine solves highly complex problems in real time
31
Campaign goal Visitor’s site navigation Recency and frequency of activity Product type, price, and category Most viewed products
And much more...
The Criteo Engine recommends products based on: Products we show John John browses “Bomber Jacket”
Product Recommendation accurately recommends the best offer
32 7:45 AM 8:00 AM 9:00 AM 12:30 PM 6:00 PM 9:00 PM 11:30 PM
The right bid for the right placement at the right time User context Publisher interaction Product behavior
Predictive Bidding determines the right ad opportunities
33
Kinetic Design delivers perfectly branded ads,
34
We are creating the Criteo Shopper Graph
Three trusted data collectives
Carefully designed using our guiding principles
Open
Two-way exchange of data
Transparent
Clear and permission-based usage
Secure
Highest data security and privacy
Fair
Value gained exceeds contribution
One of the World’s Largest Data Sets on Shoppers
35
Identity Graph: Matching of cross-device, same device, and
Already available
Criteo’s advantages
36
Interest Map: shopper interest across products
Criteo’s advantages
Availability
37
Measurement Network: brand conversion and sales across retailers
Criteo’s advantages
Already available
38
39
We deliver measurable sales and profits for retailer and brand clients.
40
Dynamic Retargeting – Revenue Model
41
CPM = Cost per Thousand impressions, CTR = Click-through rate, CR = Conversion rate, AOV = Average Order Value
Client 4
We take CPC bids from clients
Clients
$0.30 x 0.95% = $2.85
We convert those bids into pCPM (predicted CPM)
CPC x CTR = pCPM (predicted CPM)
Publishers
$0.50 x 0.75% = $3.75 $0.40 x 0.61% = $2.44 $0.80 x 0.45% = $3.60 $2.00
Clearing Price (CPM)
Highest bidder
Predicting the right bid for the highest value client
Bid = α × CPC × pCTR × pCR × pAOV
Client 1 Client 2 Client 3
We buy inventory in real time from publishers
42
Sponsored Products – Revenue Model
43
Differentiated in Marketing
Attractive Direct Sticky Elastic Demand
1 On average over the last four quarters through Q3 2017; Criteo Dynamic Retargeting only 2 Last twelve months to Q3 2017; Criteo Dynamic Retargeting only 3 On average over the last 24 quarters through Q3 2017; Criteo Dynamic Retargeting only 4 On average over the last four quarters through Q3 2017. Criteo Dynamic Retargeting only:Represents uncapped budgets of our clients, which are either contractually uncapped or so large that the budget constraint does not restrict ad buys
Our business model has unique attributes
Direct relationships with clients2
Net client additions per quarter1
Client retention rate3
Of Revenue ex-TAC from uncapped budgets4
44
45
* 17,299 clients at the end of Q3 2017Direct relationships with many premium commerce and brand clients
Commerce | Retail, Travel and Classifieds Brands
46
UV: Unique Visitors
Top-tier comScore sites (typically top-100)
A tiered go-to-market approach
47
Internal Criteo estimates
<25%
Midmarket penetration
~60,000 addressable clients worldwide in Retail, Travel and Classifieds (excluding CSP)
50%
Tier 1 penetration
A large opportunity to win new clients
48
49
PREFERRED ACCESS TO PREMIUM MEDIA INVENTORY PREFERRED ACCESS TO RETAILER INVENTORY ALL MAJOR PUBLIC EXCHANGES, GLOBAL AND LOCAL
Direct partnerships with large high-quality publishers worldwide
50
Direct Partnership Private Auction Open Auction
RTB Ad Exchanges Custom integration
Ways to access media inventory
51
Our two-tiered publisher organization
52
Transition to Mobile Social Native Multiple Devices Header Bidding Ad Blocking
Changing consumer behavior Evolving technology
Programmatic
Our sophisticated technology drives more value for publishers
In App
The publisher environment is constantly evolving
53
Ad blocking is an opportunity for players with:
Our Position
We have always delivered user-friendly ads
54
More bidders should mean higher yields Less reliance on a single monetization platform
Allows programmatic buyers to bid for premium inventory
Impact on Publishers Impact on Programmatic Buyers
More inventory available for auction More complex bidding environment can lead to higher costs and less efficiency
Header bidding and its impact on the environment
55
Short-term, temporary changes in the publisher market place More sophisticated buyers like Criteo will have a technology premium
Time
BEFORE HB GROWTH OF HB
Inventory Cost
BUYERS ADJUST TO HB Unsophisticated buyers Sophisticated buyers Technology premium
Header bidding creates opportunities
56
without the need to funnel demand through Supply Side Platforms (SSPs) or exchanges.
matching reliant on a third party
Criteo Direct Bidder: A direct path to Criteo’s unique demand
57
58
Our self-reinforcing competitive moats are difficult to replicate
59
Criteo Shopper Graph for the benefit of all participants
Our powerful Shopper Graph includes:
in our ecosystem;
Openness, transparency, security and fairness are the cornerstones of our commerce marketing ecosystem, where every participant gets more than what they contribute.
60
CLOSED OPEN WORKFLOW AUTOMATION PREDICTIVE PERFORMANCE
Criteo’s Position in Commerce Marketing
Note: based solely on Criteo’s qualitative assessment
61
* Based on 24 head-to-head tests (22 won vs. 2 lost) tracked by Criteo on a global basis across Tier-1 and midmarket advertisers over Jul 2016-Jul 2017
8% 92%
Lost Won
Win rate in head-to-head tests* (%) Reason for not winning tests
2 – Agency managed spend
24 tests
We win over 90% of head-to-head tests based on performance
62
63
* Annual average of quarterly client retention rates, defined as the percentage of live clients during the previous quarter that continued to be live during the current quarter
2,000 4,000 6,000 8,000 10,000 12,000 14,000 16,000 18,000
0% 10% 20% 30% 40% 50% 60% 70% 80% 90% 100%
Q3 11Q4 11Q1 12Q2 12Q3 12Q4 12Q1 13Q2 13Q3 13Q4 13Q1 14Q2 14Q3 14Q4 14Q1 15Q2 15Q3 15Q4 15Q1 16Q2 16Q3 16Q4 16Q1 17Q2 17Q3 17Clients Retention rate
Client retention rate* (%) Clients Revenue ex-TAC ($ millions)
50 100 150 200 250
Q1 14 Q2 14 Q3 14 Q4 14 Q1 15 Q2 15 Q3 15 Q4 15 Q1 16 Q2 16 Q3 16 Q4 16 Q1 17 Q2 17 Q3 17
World class client retention and fast growth
64
Revenue ex-TAC ($ millions)
10 20 30 40 50 60 70 80 90
Q1 14 Q2 14 Q3 14 Q4 14 Q1 15 Q2 15 Q3 15 Q4 15 Q1 16 Q2 16 Q3 16 Q4 16 Q1 17 Q2 17 Q3 17
Adjusted EBITDA ($ millions)
Strong profitability and high predictability
50 70 90 110 130 150 170 190 210 230 250
Q4 13 Q1 14 Q2 14 Q3 14 Q4 14 Q1 15 Q2 15 Q3 15 Q4 15 Q1 16 Q2 16 Q3 16 Q4 16 Q1 17 Q2 17 Q3 17
Actuals Guidance
65
66
147 238 403 534 730 889 FY 2012 FY 2013 FY 2014 FY 2015 FY 2016 LTM Q3 2017
1 We define Revenue ex-TAC as our revenue excluding traffic acquisition costs, or TAC, generated over the applicable measurement period. Revenue ex-TAC is not a measure calculated in accordance with U.S. GAAP. Please see the Appendices for a reconciliation of Revenue ex-TAC to Revenue, the most directly comparable GAAP measure. 2 We define Adjusted EBITDA as our consolidated earnings before financial income (expense), income taxes, depreciation and amortization, adjusted to eliminate the impact of equity awards compensation expense, pension service costs, acquisition-related costs and deferred price consideration. Adjusted EBITDA is not a measure calculated in accordance with U.S. GAAP. Please see the Appendices for a reconciliation of Adjusted EBITDA to net income, the most directly comparable GAAP measure.Revenue ex-TAC1 ($M) Adjusted EBITDA2 ($M)
+43% CAGR
High growth Expanding profitability
22 42 105 143 225 273 FY 2012 FY 2013 FY 2014 FY 2015 FY 2016 LTM Q3 2017
Solid financial track record since IPO
67
REVENUE EX-TAC ($M) ADJUSTED EBITDA ($M) FREE CASH FLOW ($M)
+31%* +34%* +206%
* At constant currency
Rapid, profitable growth and strong cash flow
142 190
9M 2016 9M 2017
27 83
9M 2016 9M 2017
505 664
9M 2016 9M 2017
68
* Cost of revenue and operating expenses are expressed on a Non-GAAP basis, which excludes the impact of equity awards compensation expense, pension service costs, depreciation and amortization, acquisition-related costs and deferred price consideration. ** As a % of revenueProven strong financial leverage
As a % of Revenue ex-TAC FY 2013 FY 2014 Revenue ex-TAC 100% 100% Other cost of Revenue* 7.9% 6.6% Gross margin 92.1% 93.4% R&D* 14.9% 12.5% S&O* 43.6% 39.9% G&A* 16.0% 1.48% Adjusted EBITDA 17.5% 26.2% Revenue ex-TAC margin** 40.3% 40.8% FY 2015 100% 6.1% 93.9% 13.4% 39.8% 13.8% 26.9% 40.4% FY 2016 LTM to Q3 2017 LTM to Q3 2017 100% 100% 100% 6.4% 6.4% 7.0% 93.6% 93.6% 93.0% 14.2% 14.2% 15.0% 35.3% 36.1% 35.8% 13.2% 14.0% 11.5% 30.8% 29.3% 30.7% 40.6% 40.8% 40.6%
69
Technology innovation Broader supply Upselling incremental products and channels Operating excellence and productivity
spending budgets at limited incremental costs
Powered by a combination of
Strong drivers for further operating leverage
70
SMART INVESTING
Robust operating cash flow enables smart investment
71
* Based on a $3B+ market capitalization, pursuant to the 2017 AGM authorization to issue up to 15,6m shares ** Only for M&A
Strong balance sheet
1,211 1,358
Total assets (in $M) Financial liabilities (in $M)
Very low debt
86 8
Cash & cash equivalents (in $M)
Significant cash pile
270 358
>20%
$358M
cash
As of September 30, 2017
€350M
committed financing
$750M
equity raise capacity*
Share buy-back
authorization**
Our financial structure offers significant flexibility
72
– –
growth M&A
Capital allocation: Reinvestment and M&A to drive growth
* Average for fiscal years 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 and 2016
73
74
Growth strategy based on two strong pillars
, expand our partner base Increase our
worldwide
clients worldwide
across the shopper journey
across media and retailers
75
Technology Innovation New Supply
Revenue ex-TAC uplift (%)
Conversion Optimization
+20% uplift
Dynamic Creative Optimization
+10% uplift +8% uplift
Revenue Optimization
+6% uplift
RTB integration improvement
+36% uplift
in Japan
+5% uplift
Worldwide
+10% uplift
Native
+3% uplift
Selected significant examples over time…
Note: the uplift in Revenue ex-TAC from technology innovation corresponds to the increase in Revenue ex-TAC for Criteo on a representative sample of clients, where clients use the corresponding new Engine feature
the introduction of such new source of inventory supply or new channel.
Technology and new supply are powerful drivers
76
Solutions to Engage Across the Shopper Journey
77
We Are Working to Cover the Full Shopper Journey for Retailers and Brands
Acquire Convert Re-engage, Cross-sell Upsell
ONLINE OMNICHANNEL
A
A
OffsiteBET
A
OffsiteBET
A
to-web Retargeting1BET
A
A
78
Large market
Commerce Marketing is quickly emerging as the next big digital marketing category after Search and Social
Clear strategy
Build the highest performing and open commerce marketing ecosystem
Strong competitive moats
Technology, scale and network effects, openness and shopper graph
Proven track-record
Strong client growth while maintaining 90% retention* Exceeded expectations for 16 consecutive quarter
Attractive financial profile
Strong growth, increasing profitability and cash flow
* Dynamic Retargeting
79
IR Contacts
Edouard Lassalle
VP, Head of Investor Relations 32, rue Blanche 75009 Paris +33 1 7621 2166 e.lassalle@criteo.com
Friederike Edelmann
Director, Investor Relations 387 Park Ave South, 12th Floor New York, NY 10016 +1 917 837 8617 f.edelmann@criteo.com
ir.criteo.com
ir@criteo.com InvestorRelations@criteo.com
80
81 ($ in thousands) 2014 2015 2016 Revenue 988,249 1,323,169 1,799,146 Less: Traffic acquisition costs 585,492 789,152 1,068,911 Revenue ex-TAC 402,757 534,017 730,235
Revenue ex-TAC reconciliation
($ in thousands) Q3’14 Q4’14 Q1’15 Q2’15 Q3’15 Q4’15 Q1’16 Q2’16 Q3’16 Q4’16 Q1’17 Q2’17 Q3'17 Revenue 258,245 294,489 294,172 299,306 332,674 397,018 401,253 407,201 423,867 566,825 516,667 542,022 563,973 Less: Traffic acquisition costs 155,237 172,538 175,888 177,239 198,970 237,056 238,755 240,969 247,310 341,877 306,693 322,200 329,576 Revenue ex-TAC 103,008 121,951 118,284 122,067 133,704 159,962 162,498 166,232 176,557 224,948 209,974 219,822 234,397
82
Adjusted EBITDA reconciliation
($ in thousands) Q3’14 Q4’14 Q1’15 Q2’15 Q3’15 Q4’15 Q1’16 Q2’16 Q3’16 Q4’16 Q1’17 Q2’17 Q3'17 2014 2015 2016 Net income 15,439 22,893 13,617 3,929 5,793 38,938 18,527 13,339 14,724 40,740 14,518 7,505 22,269 46,896 62,276 87,329 Adjustments: Financial (income) expense (7,502) (1,473) (3,920) 2,546 6,650 (735) 1,317 94 570 (1,435) 2,333 2,094 2,886 (11,390) 4,541 546 Provision for income taxes 4,205 4,118 7,143 1,365 5,388 (4,378) 7,944 4,450 7,574 13,161 4,201 3,665 7,858 17,578 9,517 33,129 Equity awards compensation expense 5,754 6,142 6,317 5,325 4,600 7,748 8,370 7,695 13,965 13,229 14,940 14,918 22,028 19,601 23,989 43,259 Pension service costs 125 129 112 110 110 109 129 131 132 133 290 299 320 504 441 524 Depreciation and amortization expense 8,256 9,001 8,428 10,278 11,892 13,967 12,516 13,300 14,771 16,190 20,167 22,306 23,755 31,213 44,565 56,779 Acquisition-related costs
1,793 980 6
Acquisition-related deferred price consideration 128 110 109 115 54 (2,172) 40 44 3 (3)
(1,894) 85 Restructuring
10,966 18,027 18,189 19,739 28,694 14,539 30,316 25,862 38,808 42,255 41,936 46,581 56,847 58,456 81,159 137,243 Adjusted EBITDA 26,405 40,920 31,806 23,668 34,487 53,477 48,843 39,201 53,532 82,995 56,454 54,086 79,116 105,352 143,435 224,572
83 ($ in thousands) Q3 2016 Q3 2017 CASH FROM OPERATING ACTIVITIES 43,631 61,727 Acquisition of intangible assets, property, plant and equipment (15,792) (20,999) Change in accounts payable related to intangible assets, property, plant and equipment (4,115) (6,774) FREE CASH FLOW 23,724 33,954
Free Cash Flow reconciliation