- Drivers of the Business:
Financial Metrics for the Non-CPA
2:00 p.m., April 26, 2016
Mike Hedge Birkey’s Farm Store Inc.
Drivers of the Business: Financial Metrics for the Non-CPA 2:00 - - PowerPoint PPT Presentation
Drivers of the Business: Financial Metrics for the Non-CPA 2:00 p.m., April 26, 2016 Mike Hedge Birkeys Farm Store Inc. My Background CPA. Spent 10 years with large companies in both public accounting and in industry.
Mike Hedge Birkey’s Farm Store Inc.
– Spent the first 20 years as CFO – Moved to my current position at the beginning of 2013.
– There weren’t many multi-location dealerships at the time.
stores with a common ownership.
– Most managers and owners coming from the Wholegood Sales, therefore:
service and the financial aspects needed to operate a healthy business.
person in the organization.
– Cash – Accounts Receivable – Inventory – Prepaid Assets – Fixed Assets (at cost less accumulated depreciation)
– Accounts Payable – Accrued Expenses – Floorplan Notes Payable – Short-term Borrowings – Long-term Debt
– Capital Stock – Retained Earnings
(Includes historical profits and current year profits left in the business)
and equity.
– $9mm(Assets)=$6mm(Liabilities)+$3mm(Equity) – Financial Leverage: 9/3 = 3.0 – Debt/Equity: 6/3 = 2.0
– $15mm(Assets)=$12mm(Liabilities)+$3mm(Equity) – Financial Leverage: 15/3 = 5.0 – Debt/Equity: 12/3 = 4.0
– $9mm(Assets)=$6mm(Liabilities)+$3mm(Equity) – Financial Leverage: 9/3 = 3.0 – Debt/Equity: 6/3 = 2.0
– $15mm(Assets)=$12mm(Liabilities)+$3mm(Equity) – Financial Leverage: 15/3 = 5.0 – Debt/Equity: 12/3 = 4.0
– We would need and additional $2mm of equity in the place of $2mm of liabilities.
– $9mm(Assets)=$6mm(Liabilities)+$3mm(Equity)
– Cost of Sales of $24mm / Avg. Inventory of $6mm – Sales @5% gross margin =>$25.26mm
– $15mm(Assets)=$12mm(Liabilities)+$3mm(Equity)
– Cost of Sales of $24mm / Avg. Inventory of $12mm – Sales @5% gross margin =>$25.26mm
– Depending on your product mix and market, your
– I suspect that many of us have seen the used turnover drop to 1 and 2, which puts great strain on our
– In markets with smaller corrections this is often the best strategy.
work out of the problem.
– In this market, it will likely require us to think a little more deeply about our approach.
– Unless you only need to remove a few units and can wholesale them to get it off the balance sheet. – Even with great diligence, it may take 18-24 months to work your way out of the problem.
– We need to set a target number and work to get there.
to reduce my current inventory from 8 units to 4.
is $6,000,000, then I need to reduce the inventory from $4,000,000 to $2,000,000.
rolling 12 month retail sales contract, the target inventory number will also shrink.
– New inventory ordered months in advance keeps coming. – New inventory on our lots gets stagnant.
potential buyers and the inventory sits.
and therefore, book the trade in too high making it difficult to price and move, making the used situation more difficult.
– Understand that we will need to sell 4-5 additional used units to get our used inventory back to where we started. – Its impact is not merely adding a single unit to our inventory.
– Realize that the trades on this sale may require us to sell an additional 3-4 unit sales in the future before we are washed
– If you need to do a deal and it lost money, recognize the loss
– Focus on sales with higher trade differences/older trades. – Utilize leases to move inventory off the books without generating a trade-in unit.
balance sheet and into your transaction cost, even if it pushes a deal to a
personally don’t feel comfortable in closing my eyes to the future liability. If the values are there, there will be income to book on the back end.
– While wholesale losses are something that is very difficult for most of us, in a market with falling demand, it is one way to immediately move inventory off the books without all of the sales that must follow to get to cash.
around 4 or above, our ratio is around 51% new sales and 49% used sales.
– A dealership with a higher mix of smaller units or more leasing than we do might find a much higher mix of new to used.
making progress on our used turnover.
– Up to $150,000 labor sales per tech – Additional Parts revenue approximating $100,000 per tech. – Gross margin of approximately $125,000